top of page



Jefferson County, Texas, was formed in 1837 and was named after Thomas Jefferson and it was one of the original counties in the Republic of Texas. Jefferson County is located in Southeast Texas and approximately a quarter million people reside in the county. Beaumont is the county seat and the largest city. Other towns include Port Arthur, Nederland, Port Neches and China.  Jefferson County has a diverse economy consisting of oil production and refining, shipping and transportation and agriculture. The Port of Beaumont is the fourth largest port in the county. Beaumont is known for its beautiful parks, numerous museums and close proximity to outdoor leisure activities.

The Jefferson County Morgue in located in Nederland and serves the forensic needs of approximately 14 counties in Southeast Texas. The morgue was first managed by Dr. Tommy Brown, who founded Southeast Texas Forensic Center. In 2012, Dr. Brown, with the approval of the Jefferson County Board of Commissioners, transferred the management of the morgue to Forensic Medical Management Services of Texas (FMMS). Since 2012, FMMS added two additional certified forensic pathologists and increased the number of administrative and technical staff.


FMMS regularly provides educational seminars to law enforcement, justices of the peace, Child Protective Services and healthcare providers. FMMS works closely with area health departments, hospitals and other healthcare providers.

bottom of page